Central Illinois Tropical Aquarium Club
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Flat stackable rock for aquarium

4 posters

Go down

Flat stackable rock for aquarium Empty Flat stackable rock for aquarium

Post  kellum Sun Feb 21, 2016 11:01 am

Hi: I'm new to central Illinois. I've recently newly set up a 30 gallon, 40 and 75. I'd like to find flat rocks that I could stack to create hiding places for my fish. In my old home in California, I went to a rockery, but haven't found such a place here.

TIA

kellum

Back to top Go down

Flat stackable rock for aquarium Empty Re: Flat stackable rock for aquarium

Post  Siebiscuit Sun Feb 21, 2016 11:31 am

I went to Menards (Similar to Lowes, Home Depot) and picked up some flagstone. I know there are likely much cheaper options out there so I recommend checking with some of the larger landscaping companies in the area and you may even be able to get it delivered.

Siebiscuit

Back to top Go down

Flat stackable rock for aquarium Empty McLean County Asphalt & Landscape Materials

Post  Katnapper Sun Feb 21, 2016 3:30 pm

Welcome!  Good to see you here, Kenneth. Very Happy  You might try here:  McLean County Asphalt & Landscape Materials
Katnapper
Katnapper

Back to top Go down

Flat stackable rock for aquarium Empty The search continues

Post  kellum Mon Mar 14, 2016 5:54 pm

Today I first went to the Growing Grounds. No luck.

Then McLean County Asphalt. There I bought a couple buckets of rock. I may go back and get more. Only problem is, I couldn't find any larger rocks suitable for the back of the tank.

Then, I tried Bella's Landscaping. They didn't have anything, but suggested I try a business located at Hovey and White Oak. The man at Bella's said "You can see they have a lot of landscaping rock, but there's never anybody there".