Central Illinois Tropical Aquarium Club
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Plant Identification Help and Care

4 posters

Go down

Plant Identification Help and Care Empty Plant Identification Help and Care

Post  Cuttlethefish Fri Jan 08, 2016 12:10 am

Hello! I've recently aquired many freshwater plants from someone who didn't want them anymore. I am very new to planted tanks as I've never had much luck with plants in general, on land or in the water. I was wondering if I posted some pictures of the different plants if anyone could help me ID them and give me tips on how to take care of them? Also, I'm planning on redoing the substrate in most of my tanks and switching from gravel to something else. What is the best substrate for aquatic plants to grow in? Thanks! Very Happy
Cuttlethefish
Cuttlethefish

Back to top Go down

Plant Identification Help and Care Empty Re: Plant Identification Help and Care

Post  Katnapper Sat Jan 09, 2016 3:17 am

I think jikin junkie might be able to help with the plant ID's. It can't hurt to post pics and see.

I've only had gravel as substrate, but others have experience with sand that I'm sure they'd share.

Hmmm..... I wasn't really much help here, was I? Neutral
Katnapper
Katnapper

Back to top Go down

Post  Siebiscuit Sun Jan 10, 2016 1:42 pm

In my experience, if you have fine sand, it is harder for some of the nutrients to get the roots if adding chemically (like I do). Some require more CO2 than others. Some plants require a bubbling system whereas others just need a small water additive from time to time.

Siebiscuit

Back to top Go down

Post  Cuttlethefish Mon Jan 18, 2016 12:48 am

Thank you to both of you! I've done my best for now with the plants and they all seem to be doing well but only time will tell. I'll see what I can use to help!
Cuttlethefish
Cuttlethefish

Back to top Go down

Plant Identification Help and Care Empty light, water, gravel