Central Illinois Tropical Aquarium Club
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

new member Egbar Guppies

3 posters

Go down

new member Egbar Guppies Empty new member Egbar Guppies

Post  egbar guppies Sun Dec 16, 2012 4:08 pm

hi, new to the group, I've just signed up. I've had freshwater fish most of my life off and on ( well from my first tank at age 12, not a success) I am 61 now.... but didn't get serious til about 15 years ago when i started playing with guppy genetics. Guppies are gratifying to breed because of the quick results you see in your work. I am down to just a few tanks now and downsizing again because we are moving soon and i want to make the logistics of the move easier.
I keep a line of yellow lace snakeskins, one of red/yellow cobra/zebrinous snakeskins, and have recently started working on red/green line (multicolor) snakeskins.
The red zebrinous line is the oldest, having played with it for over 10 years, learning as i have gone along. The yellow lace came about 5 years ago to supplement and use as outcrosses to the reds. I guess i did it the hard way, having started with pet store guppies, but the learning has been good.
Hooray for the internet as i have found several good breeders whose stock i have used to improve my own lines. The learning to be had online could not be found in 100 years by just visiting bookstores and the library.

I have kept and bred cories (paleatus) in the past and will admit the fry beat guppies to heck and back for "cute" factor.